Ode to Music


I was listening to my Iphone this morning, and skipping tracks as they came on, and I got to thinking about how neat it is to have so much music in such a small device. However by putting so much music into such a small device, we have lost something, the music album. When I was growing up we hand cassette tapes, and records, then in my teen years we had compact disk. I swear I have owned the Pixies Doolittle album on all those formats, including the MP3 version as well as the Rock Band video game version.  There is a feeling you get listening to an album from start to finish. It is almost as if the music is trying to tell you a story. I am sure a lot of people will say that you can listen to albums on you Iphone or other MP3 players, but it is not the same. The media and the art do mater. That is one of the reason I enjoy playing the video game Rock Band, because it is a different way to enjoy the music.

So recently I decided to start collecting records again, so I can experience that feeling I use to get as a kid. Not only has worked, but it has got my oldest daughter doing the same thing. She has started her own record collection.  (I still don’t know why she bought Steely Dan) Sometime technology changes things, so may say for the better, but I guess I am getting old, and looking for that feeling of nostalgia, ether way I think for once, I can have my cake, and eat too.

One thought on “Ode to Music

  1. My husband and I are in our mid-20′s and we’re collecting records now. There is something about that story, about the beginning, middle and end that is… beautiful and awe-inspiring. We also don’t think a lot about how records are really recorded, about how records are made with analog and not digital and every mistake is caught. I’m glad we aren’t the only ones! :)

Leave a Reply

